22 APC Senators Plan To Switch To PDP – Fani Kayode

22 APC Senators Plan To Switch To PDP - Fani Kayode
22 APC Senators Plan To Switch To PDP – Fani Kayode

Femi Fani-Kayode, a former minister of aviation and prominent member of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), has stated that an additional twenty-two senators want to switch to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The reason for the anticipated defection, according to him, is that the senators were refused the party’s nomination for the 2023 elections.

In a Wednesday tweet, Fani-Kayode expressed concern over the huge defections within the party and stated that something must be done to prevent them.

22 APC Senators are threatening to defect to the PDP because they have been refused Senate nominations. This is a severe issue, and measures must be taken to prevent it. Many are worried, and we urge our able National Chairman and National Secretary to contact them. He wrote that we cannot afford to lose them.

The Daily Trust reported early today that seven senators have left the APC for other opposition groups.

Members of the Senate who defected from the APC are Ibrahim Shekarau (Kano), Yahaya Abdullahi (Kebbi) Adamu Aliero (Kebbi), Dauda Jika (Bauchi), Ahmad Babba Kaita (Katsina), Lawal Yahaya Gumau (Bauchi), and Francis Alimikhena (Edo).

After a closed-door meeting with APC senators, the party’s National Chairman, Abdullah Adamu, told reporters that the MPs’ departure was regrettable.

He stated, however, that the defections were to be expected during election season, when the country typically witnessed a variety of events.

You May Also Like