Ten Nigerian Athletes Banned From Tokyo Olympics

ten nigerian athletes banned from tokyo olympics
ten nigerian athletes banned from tokyo olympics

Nigerian athletes have been banned from competing in the Tokyo Olympics.

According to a statement by the Athletics Integrity Unit (AIU), a total of 18 athletes have been declared ineligible, with Nigeria being the most affected.

AIU reports that the 10 athletes from Nigeria failed the minimum testing requirements under Rule 15.

“Under Rule 15 governing National Federation Anti-Doping Obligations, which came into force in January 2019, National Federations are responsible for ensuring anti-doping measures are in place within their respective jurisdictions.

In addition, the Rule establishes minimum testing requirements for the national teams of ‘Category A’ federations which are deemed to be the highest doping risks and which are considered a threat to the integrity of the sport.

The key requirement in Rule 15 is that athletes from a ‘Category A’ country must submit to at least three no-notice out-of-competition tests (urine and blood) no less than three weeks apart in the 10 months leading up to a major event. They can then represent their national team at the World Athletics Championships or the Olympic Games.

“The seven ‘Category A’ National Federations identified for 2021 are: Belarus, Bahrain, Ethiopia, Kenya, Morocco, Nigeria, and Ukraine.

5 Share
0 Tweet
0 Share
0 Share
0 Share
You May Also Like